Little Feminism Rant

Hi followers! This isn’t really related directly to medicine but I thought I’d share. I watched this video http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/06/24/verizon-ad-tells-parents-to-encourage-girls_n_5526236.html tonight and I was struck with how powerful it is. As a young woman who’s grown up in a male-dominated, sexist, patriarchal society, I was enraged by the parents in this video. Women, as well as men, should be able to pursue whatever they want in their lives, without stereotypical gender norms getting in the way of that. If I ever have a daughter, I will tell her that she’s beautiful but I will also tell her that she’s brilliant and creative and intelligent and worthy of respect and independent and strong and powerful and that she will never be defined by a man in her life. I will teach her to define herself on her own terms, not on anyone else’s. At dinner tonight, my sisters were arguing and my mom got involved and she was handling the situation very effectively. A few seconds later, my dad decided to get involved too, but, rather than keeping his cool, he started yelling. When I asked him why he felt the need to get involved, he said that he felt like sometimes a man’s voice was necessary in these situations. Well, dad, and everyone else, I’m here to tell you that a man’s voice is never necessary. I am a strong, independent, capable woman and if you try to tell me otherwise, I will work my ass off to prove you wrong every single day. Try me. I dare you.

Leave a Reply

