Hospital Heroes

Tonight, I was sitting at the information desk in the hospital, trying to locate a man’s lost keys when someone came running in the door asking me where the ER is. I started giving him the basics: “You head down this hall and turn right at the end and the ER is on your left….” but he yelled that he had a dying man in the car who needed oxygen. Looking back, I have no idea how I was so level headed but I calmly picked up the phone, dialed the Emergency Operator number, and explained the situation. Within seconds, the chimes rang overhead and a dozen doctors and nurses were running towards the lobby. Within a minute, the man was in a wheelchair, hooked up to oxygen, and being rushed back to the Emergency Department. The adrenaline was coursing through my veins as I witnessed the most terrifying thing that I’d ever seen. However, the grace and efficiency with which these medical professionals performed their job left me starstruck. Never once have I been so humbled by the people I work with and by the career path I have chosen. If anything, this terrifying event only reconfirmed for me that this is exactly what I want to do and this is exactly who I want to be. These people are healers. They save lives. And hopefully, one day, I will be given the gift to join them.

Leave a Reply

